phil lesh

I saw Phil Lesh & Friends at the great tweeter woods center in mansfield last thursday night…

set 1
Doin That Rag
Deep Elem Blues ->*
Brown Eyed Women*
Next Time You See Me
Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion)

set2
All Along The Watchtower ->
St. Stephen ->
Help On the Way ->Slipknot ->
Nobody Girl ->
China Doll ->
Nobody Girl ->
I Know You Rider ->
Slipknot ->
Franklin’s Tower

encore
Going Down The Road Feeling Bad
Box Of Rain

I have never been disappointed by Phil Lesh in Concert. I’ve seen & Friends three times now, each time the band has been very different and each time I have enjoyed it very much. This time I was not all that impressed with the whole band but I was very pleased that Trey Anastasio (who opened the show with his new band with Phish Bassist Mike Gordon) played the entire second set. If I have any issues it is that it felt like Trey was holding back – he never let loose with one of his Jerry-like staccato runs, which would have been very nice in Franklin’s Tower. The first set was a little lackluster (although Golden Road is always a good pick-me-up 😉 )but they made up for it in the second set. I really enjoy Joan Osborne singing the slow blues numbers…her China Doll was exceptional! The set list for the second set was great in that it had a “nesting doll” effect starting with Help on the Way->Slipknot and ending with Slipknot->Franklin’s Tower…The encore was only ok, IMHO, as Box of Rain was never a favorite of mine. Once I listen to this show again (the torrents were up at etree the next morning!) and the opener, I may write some more thoughts.

Technorati Tags: Phil Lesh, Music, Jam Bands

Leave a Reply

