games night

pic122590_sized.jpg

I finally returned to Tuesday night games night at David F’s house. It has been a long time. I played two new games that were pretty good….Cleopatra and the Society of Architects had some of the coolest pieces I have seen in a long time and the game play was pretty good too, although it seemed like it was a bit too hard to calculate what the best scoring move was for each turn. I tried to play defensively, i.e. not setting up the other players for good scoring opportunites at the sacrifice of poorer scoring for me – I came in second 🙂 – although probably mainly due to Aaron F’s poor choice for two early sanctuaries. The second game, Blue Moon City , from my favorite game designer Reiner Knizia, was interesting but my play suffered greatly from really bad card draw. I think I want to try it again too see if it less random as this one play was. Maybe I’ll try to go to Unity Games this wekend and play some more…

3 Responses to games night

  1. Yeah, I haven’t been over there in ages myself. I thought about going last night, but I had to meet up with someone in preparation for fall soccer – yup, that time is coming. Looks like a fun game. I won’t be able to make UG this time – heading to Maine for the weekend.

  2. DavidK says:

    I definitely want to play both of those. Aaron F. has volunteered to be my mule at UG to pick up something from Craig M for me, but let me know if you are going and are willing to as it’s eqasier for me to get it from you (did you get my email about that)?

  3. zosa says:

    David…I did get your email. Right now I am on the fence about Unity…we may be getting a babysiter and going to the movies instead. I’ll keep your request in mind.oh, also I think David F doesn’t own either of those games, they were both Brian’s so we’ll have to make sure he is around if we want to play them there 🙂

Leave a Reply

