ratatat newbury

While browsing through discs at Newbury Comics the other day, looking to spend my $25 gift certificate I got for my birthday last weekend, I heard some very cool music being played. It sounded a bit like Muse but all instrumental. It turns out it was a band called Ratatat and this was their newest full length CD "classics". It is very cool, danceable, somewhat infectious music. Check out some of the cuts at their myspace site. I ended up buying the CD and am very pleased with it. The last time I made this kind of impulse buy at Newbury was when I first heard DJ Shadow’s "Endtroducing" so it seems to be a successful way of finding good new music! I hope their stores can stay alive given the demise of most of the brick-and-mortar music stores (see what Mike Dreese at Newbury Comics has to say about it). Without this resource it becomes harder to find interesting new music.

2 Responses to ratatat newbury

  1. Dave says:

    Neat, I’m checking them out right now. Not the kind of music I usually listen to, but still really fun stuff.

  2. DavidK says:

    Newbury Comics "gets it", while Tower obviously did not (they used to but "lost it" a long time ago). They understand how to be a retail brick-and-mortar record store. They often offer fabulous discounts on new releases (often cheaper than online), they have a mailing list where you get sent exclusive coupons, and they stock a lot of independent stuff. In short, I spend way too much money there. :-)I too have done impulse-buys based on them playing stuff in store (I think Muse was one, and possibly DJ Shadow as well), which is another way they "get it".

Leave a Reply

