photons

search_result.gifFor the first time in my dozens of years of subscribing to the weekly science newsmagazine Science News I actually know someone whose work was referenced in one of the articles. My friends and former colleagues from ADL Peter Stark,  Allison Halleck (previously mentioned here) and Dale Larson have done some ground-breaking work in optical imaging on a very small scale – smaller than the diffraction limit. Pretty impressive work. Peter and I have our names together on a patent on some work we did on treating a biological fluid with light a number of years ago. He has been working with photons for quite some time and it is great to see Peter and Allison getting their years of hard work published in a serious technical journal like the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. I’m very proud to have worked with them.

Leave a comment