Q3/Q4 07 Music

jbr_fr_200.jpgI never got around to posting a review of new music I obtained in Q3 or Q4…some blogger I am….Here are some short reviews of releases from the second half of ’07. I’ll follow this up with a "best of 07" list at some point.

John Barleycorn Reborn – Dark Britannica I stumbled on this one through the hidden alcoves of he interweb and was duly impressed. A great collections from a variety of "dark folk" artists, all playing songs with the John Barleycorn birth/death/rebirth theme. Very nice if you like that sort of thing.

Einstürzende Neubauten – Alles Wieder Offen I didn’t even know this band was still performing and recording. This is a very listen-able release from some musicians that are not always so. "Nagorny Karabach" is particularly haunting and moody.

Robert Plant & Alison Krauss – Raising Sand Really good collaboration from two of my favorite voices. Nothing ground-breaking or earth-shattering, just some nice music in that melancholy vein that they both do so well.

Queensryche – Take Cover I am a sucker for a good collection of cover songs. When it is one of my favorite progressive metal acts and it includes a track from Jesus Christ Superstar..well onto the top 10 for the year it goes!

Bruce Springsteen – Magic This one was for Stephanie. I’m not a big fan and this release did not do much for me. I’ll stick to his mid ’70s and solo acoustic material.

Coheed & Cambria – Good Apollo, I’m Burning Star IV, Vol. 2: No World For Tomorrow This one deserves another listen. I really like this band because they are "thinking outside the box" when it comes to marketing and selling their material. Prog rock and comic books – great combo.

Glen Hansard & Markéta Irglová   – Once (Music from the Motion Picture) The best songs from the film are what make this release. Good soulful folk with that over-the-top growly voice like my friend Tom Downing does so well. The other tracks are marginal though and don’t add a lot to the overall package.

Radiohead – In Rainbows Speaking of thinking outside the box…I discussed this one in a post recently. I still don’t see what the fuss is over this band…nice music but nothing thematically unique or sonically new.

Nightwish Dark – Passion Play Good female led progressive metal but Tarja Turunen was the voice that set this band apart from their peers. Anette Olzon sings very well as her replacement, but she sounds too much like all of the others for me.

Leave a Reply

