1d20

341971.jpgThere are a few people who, through their life work or a specific effort, had a great influence on shaping me in my youth. Some are authors like Isaac Asimov, Douglas Hofstadter, JRR Tolkien, and Edgar Rice Burroughs. Others had various achievements of fame like Neil Armstrong and Bobby Orr. Still others created different works of art, entertainment, etc, …Gene Roddenberry, Jimmy Page, Jeff Beck, Edward Hopper…Gary Gygax was definitely one. The report of his death the other day made me think of the effect his creation had on my life. Many of my hobbies and interests today stem directly from that work. I am sure I am not alone in thanking him for that.

Leave a Reply

