avatar

I watched the series finale of Avatar: The Last Airbender this evening. While they left it open for plenty of new stories to tell, the three-season story arc is definitely complete. I can’t recommend this show enough. It appears on the surface to be a simple kids anime knock-off and while that characterization is partly correct, it has an incredible depth that is rarely found in anything on television, never mind a 30-minute animated show. The characters, deep world mythology, and wicked sense of humor are all reminiscent of the Buffyverse. The multitude of characters, creatures and conflicts is matched by the real world life lessons learned by all of the characters as they struggle with who they are and how they fit into their world. This series did not disappoint anyone in my family. While I look forward to a box set DVD one day, I am concerned about the signing of M. Night Shyamalan to direct a live-action film adaptation. Much like any of the gre4at television serials out right now, this story works because of its depth, breadth and length. Watch it.

2 Responses to avatar

  1. Aaron says:

    Do you still have this on some medium where it could somehow get to me? I missed the episodes last week from Thursday on due to Comcast’s screw-ups and am annoyed about it.I also think this series is just great. Was introduced to it by my 5 year old nephew (who also has Avatar action figures 😉 ) but really liked it and have been watching it ever since.

  2. zosa says:

    I only have them on the Comcast DVR. Sorry. I think the final episodes are due out on DVD shortly=…check Netflix.

Leave a Reply

