pottery

L'ordre_du_phenix.jpgIt’s been happening for a few weeks now. The frequency is increasing rapidly. It started when I noticed a young woman on the bus reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’ Stone. The next day I noticed a woman on the subway with the British edition of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Then a few days ago I rode the train with no fewer than five people on the same subway car, all reading various different volumes. Yesterday it was the man who sat across from me in the plaza while eating lunch with Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince in his hands, this morning it was another woman on the bus reading Harry Potter et l’ordre du phénix. Every day – without fail – I see someone reading a Harry Potter book. When the last volume was released I remember seeing many people around town reading it, but this groundswell before the release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is unprecedented. By July 20th I expect to see the bus driver and the barista at Starbucks with books in their hands…. On the 21st it will be me…

One Response to pottery

  1. Dave says:

    I’ve finally bitten the bullet, and am reading the series for the first time. I don’t think I’ve taken more than one afternoon/evening per book so far, even if the evening has to be stretched to extend till dawn…

Leave a comment